Higher Committee for Writing about the History of Jordan

The Higher Committee for Writing about the History of Jordan is an independent committee, established upon an initiative by His Majesty the late King Hussein in a royal letter to H.R.H. Prince El-Hassan on 16 June 1987 in which His Majesty commissioned His Highness to set up an independent committee combining “the prominent thinkers and historians from universities and the academic research centres who are abreast of the progress of our country , and who participate in its blessed march, with the aim of laying down an integrated phases outline for writing the history of Jordan within the framework of the history of the Arab nation, publishing academic high level research papers and studies of an objective methodology which aim at the truth and nothing but the truth, and extracting out of these research papers and studies a series of books for various categories of readers from youth to literate adults to prominent specialists for the purpose of education and reading”.

The committee comprised the presidents of the Aal al-Bayt Institute for Islamic Thought (previously the Royal Academy), the Royal Scientific Society, University of Jordan, Yarmouk University, and the University of Sciences and Technology and al-Balqa’ Applied University.

The committee had laid out an integrated outline for writing about the history of Jordan from the antiquity until the present, and subscribed more than one hundred and twenty historians and scholars, from Jordan and abroad, to write the required studies.

Thus, sixty five books had been published by the committee, in four series as follows:

1. The Reference Book on the History of Jordan.
2. Books for General Readership.
3. Specialized Studies.
4. References.

The committee has an annual budget with the participation of the office of H.R.H. the Crown Prince, in addition to the aforementioned seven bodies.

The committee, furthermore is using the Aal al-Bayt Institute as its premises. All the administrative services are being offered to it voluntarily by the employees of the Institute.